Every stranger looks like you: Bluest shade of black

 

I never heard of Every stranger looks like you until someone posted this video clip in a Facebook group I frequent. My interest was piqued and I immediately checked out their latest record Bluest shade of black. It also turned out that Every stranger looks like you is a Belgian band and they played my town several times. But somehow I missed all that. So I decided to mention them on my blog, because they actually deserve to be known about.

I’ve seen Every stranger looks like you described as grunge, and while with some goodwill you can hear some Soundgarden or Alice in chains in some parts I think they are much more. In their style I hear traces from hardcore, stoner, sludge, post rock and even some industrial. Bands that come to mind are Vision of Disorder (also a band that mixed hardcore aggression with grunge and stoner melancholy), Deftones, the Icarus line etc… Such diverse influences and still this is a consistent and addictive record.

Bluest shade of black has the potential to be one of the records of the year, so my advice to you is, definitely check it out.

Every stranger looks like you on Facebook

Dog knight productions on Facebook

Leave a Reply

